Jump to main content
Jack Garratt - Fire

Jack Garratt is a force to be reckoned with. Having already won the Brits Critics Choice Award, championed the BBC Sound of 2016 poll and sold out numerous shows across the UK, USA and Europe, the beautifully bearded musical wizard looks ready to set the whole world ablaze in 2016 with the release of his highly anticipated debut album, Phase. Ahead of it’s release, next week, the London born Jack of all trades has decided to whet our appetites with new song ‘Fire’.

Opening like a softly burning ember, Garratt’s delicate vocals float lightly above what first appears to be a minimalistic number. However, we are soon taken on an innovative and seamless genre crossing journey. As the song transforms, it explodes into an intense mix of warbling synthesisers, pounding beats and bass heavy production. R&B? Pop? Drum and Bass? Electronic dance? It’s all in there and the result is just as piping hot as it’s title suggests. Yes Jack. You sir, are indeed, on fire.

Take a listen to ‘Fire’ below and check out the live stripped back performance from Vevo. Jack will also play an intimate gig at New Slang in Kingston on Thursday 19th February; the eve of his album release. Grab tickets here and pre-order Phase here

Phase tracklist:

01 “Coalesce (Synesthesia Pt. II)”
02 “Breathe Life”
03 “Far Cry”
04 “Weathered”
05 “Worry”
06 “The Love You’re Given, I Know All What I Do”
07 “Surprise Yourself”
08 “Chemical”
09 “Fire”
10 “Synesthesia Pt. III”
11 “My House is Your Home”


Next Story Day Wave – Stuck
Previous Story Aisha Badru – Happy Pretending